rocketstill.blogg.se

Review on alright by kendrick lamar
Review on alright by kendrick lamar





review on alright by kendrick lamar

Review on alright by kendrick lamar full#

Quite a few of them sported a perfectly parted head full of rollers that a girlfriend or sister did. But there was something else, something radically dangerous about being a gangsta, something that made me feel safe and excited whenever I saw neighborhood OGs working on cars and listening to oldies. I for one grew up in the Baldwin Hills/Jungle/Crenshaw district wanting to be a crip, mainly because I preferred the color blue over red and crips had their own dance. On the block we would say, ‘his daddy used to bang.’ In certain neighborhoods in Cali this gives him status, a gangsta is something many L.A. Kendrick Lamar is the son of a Los Angeles OG (original gangster). The truth is, upon hearing it in its entirety I found myself stubbornly lost in the song “Alright,” unable to move past repeat. But before I start, let me be clear, this is not a review on Kendrick’s Lamar’s new album.

review on alright by kendrick lamar

My feeling is that an improved reading of women’s lives could further develop his ability to shape black humanity. At the same time, Lamar could benefit from an unlearning patriarchy course taught by those same leaders. I also think To Pimp a Butterfly should be institutionalized a Negro classic by an approved panel of thought-leaders from our own communities. I like to fancy him a musician of field nigga soul.

review on alright by kendrick lamar

I love a perfectly placed use of the word nigga in a song, there’s an art to it and Kendrick Lamar is one of the better artists in the-use-of-nigga field.







Review on alright by kendrick lamar